Los Angeles Film Critics Name ‘Spotlight’ Best Picture (See Entire List)

“Spotlight” won for Best Picture of the Year, it was announced today by Stephen Farber, President of the Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA).

“I am very pleased that our group selected a wide range of films, from big studio blockbusters to smaller independent films richly deserving of recognition. Our individual winners covered quite an impressive gamut in terms of age, experience and background.” said Farber, on this year’s awards.

The 41st annual Los Angeles Film Critics Association awards ceremony will be held Saturday, January 9 at the InterContinental, Los Angeles. As previously announced, editor Anne V. Coates will receive the 2015 Lifetime Achievement Award.

Award winners are:

PICTURE: “Spotlight”
Runner-up: “Mad Max: Fury Road”

DIRECTOR: George Miller, “Mad Max: Fury Road”
Runner-up: Todd Haynes, “Carol”

ACTOR: Michael Fassbender, “Steve Jobs”
Runner-up: Géza Röhrig, “Son of Saul”

ACTRESS: Charlotte Rampling, “45 Years”
Runner-up: Saoirse Ronan, “Brooklyn”

SUPPORTING ACTOR: Michael Shannon, “99 Homes”
Runner-up: Mark Rylance, “Bridge of Spies”

SUPPORTING ACTRESS: Alicia Vikander, “Ex Machina”
Runner-up: Kristen Stewart, “Clouds of Sils Maria”

SCREENPLAY: Josh Singer and Tom McCarthy, “Spotlight”
Runner-up: Charlie Kaufman, “Anomalisa”

ANIMATION: “Anomalisa”
Runner-up: “Inside Out”

Runner-up: “The Tribe”

Runner-up: “The Look of Silence”

NEW GENERATION: Ryan Coogler, “Creed”

FILM EDITING: Hank Corwin, “The Big Short”
Runner-up: Margaret Sixel, “Mad Max: Fury Road”

CINEMATOGRAPHY: John Seale, “Mad Max: Fury Road”
Runner-up: Edward Lachman, “Carol”

PRODUCTION DESIGN: Colin Gibson, “Mad Max: Fury Road”
Runner-up: Judy Becker, “Carol”

MUSIC/SCORE: Carter Burwell, “Anomalisa” and “Carol”
Runner-up: Ennio Morricone, “The Hateful Eight”

SPECIAL CITATION: David Shepard, for his invaluable work in film preservation, particularly of films from the silent era


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.